Need advice for bottle babies!

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by Bboggs78, Jan 10, 2021.

1. Bboggs78

Bboggs78 New Member

Jan 10, 2021
    Ohio
    Let me start by saying I am fairly new to goats (only a few years in) and constantly learning new things. We had a bad weekend. One of our older does (5 years old) was always our supermom....successfully had triplets, without assistance, past 3 years. Yesterday she had triplets again, as planned. After delivery she cleaned the kids then crashed! We helped the kids latch on where she laid so they could get some good colostrum gulps while waiting for our vet to show up. (Why is it these things always happen after hours, on weekends, etc...?) Anyways, the last kid was born around 10:30 am, vet didn't show up until around 4:00 pm. Sadly, doe passed away despite all our efforts. We took the kids inside to make sure they were warm enough and bottlefed colostrum supplement. They did terrific and vet said they were perfect! Fast forward to this today, they don't want to eat. They are steady on their legs, peeing and pooping but refusing to eat or suckle. All they seem to want to do is sleep. Per my vet's recommendation I did give them each 4ml of Nutridrench. Could this have caused them to go off feedings? How long can they go without milk and still survive? I have raised bottle babies before and never had this happen! I can't stand the thought of loosing them on top of losing their sweet mama.

AlabamaGirl likes this.
  2. Sfgwife

Sfgwife Well-Known Member

Feb 17, 2018
    North Cakalaki
    Temps? How much do they weigh? How much a d how often are you feeding? Are you still doing the colostrum supplement or a milk or milk replacer? Was the colostrum stuff indeed a supplement and not the colostrum replacer? How do their bellies feel... soft, hard round, flat?

AlabamaGirl and GoofyGoat like this.

3. Bboggs78

Bboggs78 New Member

Jan 10, 2021
    Ohio