The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Need advice - stunted kid problems

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to raising goats, thus this is my first post. I have been reading a lot and decided it might be best to just pose my situation and question to the goat community.

I have a 6 week old female alpine that I received on earlier this week on Sunday (along with two little 2 1/2 week old bucklings). They are adorable! See picture, the brown one is the female, her name is Maeby :). She has never been able to bottle feed from a nipple so she has been drinking milk straight from a bucket. Because of that and a very short bout of pneumonia she had as a newborn she is stunted and cannot properly eat hay or grain yet. I should note when she drinks her milk from her bucket she sticks her entire face in there and gets a bunch of milk up her nose. For the next hour after feeding she is usually sneezing and coughing up milk but it subsides and she is usually full of energy!

Shes always had slightly soft stool but in the last few days it has changed to mustard yellow liquid that gets all over her. I am thinking some of the milk gets into her rumen causing some of the diarrhea. Something else to note - I've had to switch (gradually) from goats milk (from the family I bought the goats from) to cows milk. The bucklings seem to be doing just fine during the switch.

Last night I took her off milk for the evening feeding and gave her a warm water with some DuMor electrolyte mix (following the package directions), in hopes to help her with the diarrhea. I also gave her the first dose of Corid.