The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 2 six week old kiko goats. They both are now refusing to take a bottle. The bigger one is about 17 pounds and the smaller is about 16 pounds. They were both eating fine then night before last the bigger one (Houdini) refused is night time bottle. He ate about an ounce then quit. The next morning was the same and the rest of the day he wouldn’t take even the ounce. The smaller one (spot) started refusing the bottle yesterday afternoon. They both seem fine - no bloated stomachs. I add 5cc of vegetable oil to their milk -as per my vet. The are eating hay and drinking water. Their poop is normal and they are peeing but it doesn’t seem like they pee as much at a time as before. Just don’t know what I’m missing. This is my first time trying to raise goats so any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
889 Posts
Have a fecal done to rule out coccidia and worms. Take their temp to make sure it is between 101.5 and 103.5. What kind of milk and how much are you feeding them? Also, are they eating feed or hay? Are they doelings, bucklings, or wethers? Have they recently experienced any stressful event like castration, rehoming, chased by predators, disbudding, change in feed/bottle, etc?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·