Need Good Vibes -

Discussion in 'The Chatter Box' started by kelebek, Aug 5, 2008.

1. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    Ok - So I will try to sum this up the best that I can so it is not a huge thread - LOL!

I graduated from college with an AA in June 07 as a Non-Traditional Student (means I was NOT right out of HS going to college). I was immediately hired on as an Admin Asst at a different 2 year college in Advising Services. I am continuing on with my BSW (Bachelors in Social Work) while working full time and working the ranch.

Back in early May, 2 postions came open in Financial Aid. One was a tech (making 2-3 dollars more an hour) and the other was an Advisor (making DOUBLE what I currently make - and an office! I know Corney - but everyone wants their own office with a window). I only put in for the Advisor position as I met the qualifications and I didn't like the director over there at the time - so it really had to be worth me leaving me "comfy" job to move there.

Although I LOVE my job that I have now (everyone is super awesome and I can take classes during work and surf the internet - obviously because I am always posting during the day - :type: ) But I worked Financial Aid for 2 years prior to graduation and I feel bored here and that I went to school for nothing.

So I told my boss that I had an interview. He said that they would be stupid not to hire me over there and would back my decision if I did decide to leave for the new position. Then he called me into his office and asked me why I was looking at the other position and I told him the truth. He let me know that if I don't leave, I will be receiving a promotion and a raise. It would not be as much as the job in Financial Aid, but that it would be worth some. So I was excited and I would be receiving more "constructive" projects to include working on the department budget and what not.