The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, DO NOT LAUGH AT ME!!!:eek:.....I AM WANTING TO GET MY DOE BRED NEXT MONTH, SO THAT MAYBE WE WILL GET SOME MARCH SHOW BABIES. SHE IS CURRENTLY 18MOS OLD AND HAS NEVER EVEN BEEN CLOSE TO A BUCK EXCEPT FOR LOOKING ACROSS THE FIELD AT HIM. HE (MY BUCK) WILL BE 1YR OLD SEPT 11TH AND HAS NEVER BEEN WITH A DOE AND I CAN TELL HE IS VERY READY. MY QUESTION IS WHAT DO I DO? HOW DO I GO ABOUT GETTING HER BRED. ALSO HE SEEMS VERY HORNY:D AND HARASSES MY OTHER BUCK AND THEY ARE CONSTANTLY FIGHTING , SO WILL HE HURT HER IF SHE ISNT READY? I AM REALLY NEW TO THIS AS YOU CAN SEE.

·
Banned
5,944 Posts
I'm sure you already know this, but you need to separate the two bucks so your doe is bred by the buck you want her bred to. I figured it was worth mentioning, just in case. :) When your doe starts cycling put her in with the buck and keep an eye on them until you're sure they will be ok together. I doubt that the buck will hurt the doe, but anything is possible. I would probably leave them together for a couple of days, until the doe is out of heat and no longer receptive to the buck, and move her back to her regular pen.

If you have more does you want bred another option would be to move the buck to the does pen. Watch them as closely as you can until he has serviced all of the does and move him back to his pen. Either way, keep track of the date(s) and watch them for signs of heat in about 21 days.

PS I'm not laughing at you, it is a valid question. :)

·
Dave (TDG Farms) S.E. Washington State
4,956 Posts