The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the forum and have very much enjoyed reading through the posts. So, I have an embarrassing question. I have tried to milk my 2 ND does in the past. My older doe refused to let down to me. She stood nicely on the stand, but I could not get a drop of milk from her. My husband could get a quart at a time from her (hand milking). Last summer I tried to milk her daughter. I got no milk from her. She had her kids with her all the time, but I couldn't even get a drop. Has anyone else been a failure at milking? I plan to freshen 3 does in the spring, but hesitate to make plans for what to do with the milk since I have technically not gotten milk from my goats...ever...grrr. Most goats eventually let down, right? Has anyone had a goat that just won't let down? Any tips? My girls have been well behaved, apparently I'm just a loser at milking and my confidence is way down.

·
Registered
637 Posts
Well my daughter was away for a sleepover, and I got her doe on the stand, she refused to let down for me as well.... we just waited a while , she was eating her grain, I started massaging her udder, and then she let down-- not a whole lot, but enough so I felt she could make it thru til next day and we got my daugther for the AM milking...
Not sure what to do in the future. but if it helps it took my daughter about 10 days to really hit stride with the milking, so I would say, just keep trying and you and your goats will settle into a rhythm?...

·
4,499 Posts