Need some help with Gangrene mastitis

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by valsey, May 27, 2008.

1. valsey

valsey New Member

May 6, 2008
    I have been documenting the gangrene mastitis in my doe on a blog. Rather than writing out the whole story, if anyone with some experience with this can look at the blog and give me some help, I would sure appreciate it.

Long story short, I'm worried that she has partially ripped the dying teat off - seems too early for it to be sloughing and too raw underneath the dead part...the latest in a series of concerns.

Beware - Nasty pictures there

All help is much appreciated

http://gangrenemastitis.blogspot.com/

2. Muddy Creek Farm

Muddy Creek Farm New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Keokuk, Iowa
    Wow, I am so sorry this all has happened. Thanks so much for documenting it for people to reference in the future.

I have NO experience with this what-so-ever, but I wish you and Andie the best of luck.

And WELCOME to the Goat Spot!!

3. valsey

valsey New Member

May 6, 2008
    Thanks Chelsey

4. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I have NO experience either but I would think that you might want to keep putting Fural or switch to something like Blue Kote to keep that new raw spot between the teats from getting infected.

Thats quite an extensive blog you have there --- good work. You have put a lot of energy into treating your doe and hopefuly no one needs the information but if they do what a good resource.

Has a vet actually SEEN her or are you just talking to them on the phone? I would have a vet out to see if the dead tissue should be removed at this point.

5. valsey

valsey New Member

May 6, 2008
    No - a vet has not seen her. I've spoken with several and they seem to think I'm doing all I can.