Need tips on bathing a goat

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by Nancy_in_GA, Jun 26, 2008.

1. Nancy_in_GA

Nancy_in_GA New Member

Nov 11, 2007
    Northeast Georgia
    Please tell me how you give a goat a bath. I've never done this before, so nothing you can say will be obvious to me.

BTW, these are big goats (~170lb Saanen wethers). Can I do one by myself?

2. trailhound

trailhound New Member

Mar 22, 2008
    North Carolina
    I am new to goats and mine are still babies, so I can't offer any advice to you. My little doe came with a huge collection of lice and so I gave her a flea bath. It was all my husband and I could do to bath her and she was only 2 months old at the time. However, maybe a larger goat wouldn't be so squirmy, I guess it also depends on what he is used to. I suppose that people who show their goats give them baths a lot?

My only suggestion is that if worse comes to worse and he really has to have a bath maybe you could set up a chute to keep him in place? Just be careful that there is nothing he can get hung up on if he is jumping around and watch yourself as well. However, I am coming to this with wild horse experience, not goat experience, so I am probably way off track, lol!

3. Tog Lovers

Tog Lovers New Member

Oct 10, 2007
    Greensburg, PA
    Plan on getting wet!!! The first couple of times we bathed our goats it was hilarious. Now they are getting used to it. What we do is hook their lead real short to the hitch on our Blazer. This way they can only kinda pivot around in a half circle. Take the hose and wet them down real good. Soap up a rag and wash them down. If they are really dirty I take a brush to them after the rag. Then rinse. Make sure you get all the soap off. You can pretty much use any pet shampoo but we have found that the horse shampoos really get them cleaner. If it is a little chilly out I try to get them pretty dry but now that its warm I just towel them lightly and send them on their way.
  4. Nancy_in_GA