Needing Help

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by jbruner7, Oct 26, 2008.

1. jbruner7

jbruner7 New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Montrose, IA
    I am new to having goats. Our two little does were dehorned(I would have never agreed to this if I would have known, I wanted them disbudded when they were still young enough, Long story). Any way it looks as though one of my little does had headbutted something in the barn and torn off her button to her horn. Her head was completely healed until she did this. Now it looks raw and bloody but is not bleeding. What can I do for her, and what would cause her to head butt something so hard? was she scared at night? Did she do it trying to get out? They are both locked up in the barn at night. I am attaching pictures. One is of her yesterday, you can see her horns are healed and look good. The other two are of her head this morning and the button of her horn that she knocked off.
    Any help would be great I am very concerned for her and do not want her to get infection or anything.

2. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    I dont see any pics but, i'd clean it , maybe some gentle iodine or other wound spray to keep it clean like blu-kote. if it starts bleeding , keep pressure on it until it stops.

dont know what could have caused it , maybe she had an itch and it cam off while itching :shrug:
    she'll be fine - goats are always doing crazy stuff.

3. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA