The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm new to the world of goats as well as this forum.

I got my first kids last night. We weren't planning on getting goats until next year. Hubby and I just bought our first home in January. We live on 8.6 mostly wooded acres in the country. Money's tight. But a situation arose that ended in me becoming the owner of two 5 week old Boer cross baby girls.

The previous owners had to find homes for them immediately. A neighbor of theirs turned them into their county and the law showed up to tell them they had to be re-homed. They didn't want to put the babies on craigslist because they fell in love with them and didn't want them ending up as someone's dinner or sacrifice. They new I love animals, have chickens, and have a nice size property. So they asked me if I'd take them.

At first I said no, due to the money situation. But they were persistent, and the more I learned about the babies, the more I knew I would end up with them. Not because I couldn't resist their adorable faces, but because I was afraid if I didn't take them, they would die.

The previous owners (as well as me) know nothing about raising goats. Fortunately I have a family member (her name is Barbara) who has raised Boer goats for two decades, so I have her to call with questions. Anyhoo, here's how they were raised by the previous owners.

They got them at a few days old, having been abandoned by their mama. They bottle fed them goat milk replacer until day 11. Then they began to wean them off the milk. They offered them grain. The babies wouldn't touch it. So they put the grain in a blender and bottle fed it to them. The babies wouldn't drink water from a bowl, so they bottle fed them the water. They never offered them hay.