The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
8,171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I had my house built 13 yrs. ago, I had a pole barn built with a concrete floor and big overhead garage doors. I also had a an overhang put in the back for my dogs. That was enclosed with chain link fence. (10'x 30')
The garage is 30'x40'. 1/3 is goats, 1/3 is milkstand and hay, rest is cabinets, shelving and a workbench.

The dog are long since gone, I enclosed the overhang and made a goat barn.
Then I moved 10' square chain link fence panels into the "garage" area, moved in milk stands, feed bins and hay. Needless to say, there is no room to park anything but a couple of 4 wheelers.

Hubby said we either have to build a new garage or a barn! I vote for the barn, duh! That leads me to my dilemma. I am not a designer! Does anyone have any good ideas for 20 goats- Alpines- a good milking area-probably enclosed and heated. I am milking between 5-10 goats, depending on the year. This year, 6 are in milk.

The new barn will be 40'x60' with the main pen large enough to drive a tractor through, a manger with locking head catches and 4 or 5 kidding pens.

I think I am going to have a feed room, hopefully it will keep rodents and vermin out, a milk parlor with 2 milk stands and a hay mow for hay.

Questions:
What kind of floor? I currently have concrete, it works pretty good, but I need drains.
Do you think I can do this for $20-$25,000? (I don't want to borrow much more than that).
Does anyone have a sketch to help me see how this would look. I can't draw a straight line with a ruler!
Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
58,887 Posts
Do you mean the whole cost of the barn being 20-25k? If so, there is no way for concrete.