The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I brought home a Boer Buck a few days ago. I was told he was a little over 8 months old. I got him home and noticed that he doesn't seem interested in the does. I have 3 Boer females that are a year old. I put him in a smaller pen and then added one of the does who is in heat to see how he would react. The other two are in a larger pen sharing a fence with his also. The buck is obviously intact and very healthy looking. But he is not stinky nor does he pee on his face / beard / front legs. I have been watching him closely and have not seen him snort, lick, or rub on the female or smell her pee etc. Is he just too young? This is my first year with Boers but have been raising Nigerians for 6+ years. Every time I've brought home a Nigerin buck, he is going crazy before I get him off the truck, even at that age. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
905 Posts
Is the buck much smaller than the doe? (Would that matter, I don't know.)

My guess would be he needs to acclimate himself to the new place for a few days.

·
Registered
275 Posts
If he doesnt do all that stinky buck stuff, maybe he's a weather.
Though, he could just be getting used to the place or inconfident.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
He is definatley intact and both testicles appear and feel normal. He is slightly bigger than the doe. Generally, around what age do Boer goats start marking themselves with urine? It doesn't seem like he ever has at all.

·
Registered
1,628 Posts
Age could be a factor. Are you 100% sure the doe is in heat?

Nigerians are very aggressive breeders. Boers...not so much. They are more likely to lay around waiting for does to come in than to chase them around relentlessly like a Nigerian. At least in my experience.

Give him some time to settle in and figure out his job.

·
926 Posts
Age could be a factor. Are you 100% sure the doe is in heat?