New Buckling Going Downhill Fast: Advice??

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by SKlutra, Apr 10, 2020.

1. SKlutra

SKlutra New Member

Apr 10, 2020
    GA
    Hey all! Newbie goat owner here, and looking for a bit of advice:

I'm a bit long-winded, so please bear with me:

I just adopted two boys last Thursday, they were auction babies so I have very little background on them, but both look to be around 4-5 months imo. They were weaned when I got them. One came wethered, the other is intact. I knew I'd run the risk of taking on a project with auction goats, and that turned out to be the case:

First few days were fantastic, goats seemed happy and healthy, other than being a little thin and some bad hoof care. Cleaned up the hooves, gave CD/T vax, held off on worming since I wasn't seeingany other signs and FAMACHAs looked good, which I realize now may have been a bad call.

Two days ago I noticed the buckling had some "loose" stool: fairly solid but not pelleted, like a dog turd. I had just moved their grazing area (we have a portable enclosure for them, and they have a pen that they go into at night. Pen is dirt/browse, pastures are a mixture of grass and browse.) to a spot that had a lot of lush green grass, and it had been a bit drizzly, and this lil guy loves his grass so I just chocked the stool up to the weather/grazing in addition to the feed changes they probably had from whatever they were getting fed before I had them. Next day, I noticed that the stool had progressed to a pudding consistency. FAMACHA still good, rumen motility still good, appetite and attitude still good, and his hair coat was actually improving (not that it was bad before, but I swear he gets softer by the day). Took them off of pasture early and cut their pellet portion, so they were in the pen with only leafy browse and grass hay/alfalfa to eat. Cleaned his backside so I'd know if the diarrhea recurred. As always, they have free access to water and loose mineral. Temp normal.