New Cashmere does

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by raftert, Aug 3, 2009.

1. raftert

raftert Guest

Apr 14, 2009
    I just bought these two Cashmere does. They were born Feb 6th/09. I am still extremely new to goats and would love to have any feedback on them (good, bad or otherwise :) ) I am tenatively planning to brush out their coats if I can find a market up here for it (I'm in central BC Canada), but have more plans for breeding them. The breeder I bought them from suggested breeding them to a Boer for market kids, plus that fits well for a buck for my Boer does. Feedback on this plan would be great too.

Attached Files:

2. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    maybe its just me but they dont look cashmere...maybe a boer/nubian mix, but they usually have their fiber growing in by now.

3. raftert

raftert Guest

Apr 14, 2009
    lol....well at least the plan to brush out the coats wasn't my priority. They didn't have any Nubians where I bought these two, but they definitely had Boers. Could they be Boer and Cashmere or maybe just poor quality Cashmeres? The one to the right has a very long strip of hair down her spine, but otherwise their coats look just like my other goats, maybe very slightly longer.

4. powderhooves

powderhooves New Member

Jan 29, 2009
    If you message Sweet Goats she will be able to tell you everything you want and need to know. She's been raising champion Cashmere goats for years and is so very generous with advice for all us newbies.

Blessings!
    Whatever they are they sure are cute :)

5. Oh how nice. Congrats on your new arrivals.

I agree though. Their coat should be longer I would think? Maybe not so much in the summer? Or the age? I really know nothing about the breed to make any statements but they are pretty.

6. raftert

raftert Guest

Apr 14, 2009