New from Arizona

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by DVentHill, Apr 16, 2010.

1. DVentHill

DVentHill New Member

Apr 15, 2010
    Hello everyone :wave: I am pretty new to goats but I don't think I have ever been so nuts about an animal before :stars: My husband thinks I'm crazy!! It took me awhile to talk him into letting me get goats and the only way he finally gave in was me agreeing to raise meat goats.. I was a little bummed about the having to butcher some of them but its all about compromise right?! lol SO I started in January and I now have 18 goats as of today. I have 14 that are mixed with Nubian, Toggenburg , Nigerian and Pygmy so they r quite a mix.. 7 are does , a tiny guy gets to stay a pet and 6 are meat goats.. Then I have 4 that are Boer and Nubian. 3 does and 1 breeding buck to cover all the does. I am supposed to go look at some more Boer does this weekend. :leap: Boers are may favorite .. I wanted to buy a registered Boer buckling and 2 registered Boer doelings and my husband said OK until I told him how much lol I'm still trying to talk him into it :pray: So if anyone has any full blood Boers near Bouse, AZ let me know =) Even if I can't have them I would love to meet them! I'm very happy to be here and hope to learn a lot!! Plus its nice to meet people who love goats too and won't just think I''m crazy!

2. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    Welcome from North Idaho! I raise Nigerians, Nubians, and Myotonics (for meat). We LOVE goat meat and if I know that I have kids born for that, I have a tendency not to socialize them --- makes it so much easier.

3. fiberchick04

fiberchick04 New Member

Mar 8, 2010
    Colorado
    Welcome from Colorado! It's always a joy to meet someone who is so enthusiastic and passionate about goats! :cool: This forum will be perfect for you, no one is crazy here becuase we all LOVE our goats!

I raise cashmeres, I've raised a couple boers before but my main production is cashmere = )