New goat...maybe a fainter?

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by Kelsiekoos, Sep 14, 2009.

1. Kelsiekoos

Kelsiekoos Guest

May 24, 2009
    Hello, I'm new to goats and we just got our first the other day. Well, they all seem healthy enough besides worms, we wormed them though, except our doe who is 3 or 4 years old. When we try to get ahold of her she seems to collapse on us. It appears to only be her back legs and her back legs will also give out on her if something spooks her. She was supposed to be a boer cross but now I'm wondering if this is similar to what fainting goats do. Maybe since she is mostly boer she only half faints?!? :shrug: :wink: Anyway any advice would be appreciated, ecspecially if you think it is a disease causing this!! BTW when I got her I checked her eyes, ears, nose, mouth, legs...everything looked good far as I could tell...no sores/ swelling.

Attached Files:

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Hmm...that is odd, I don't think theres fainter there, by the looks of her she is a normal sized Boer cross...I'd say there may be something neurelogical up thats causing the rear end paralysis with sudden movement.

BTW WELCOME! I moved your topic here so that you would get more hits :)

3. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    Welcome to the goat spot. :wave:

Do you or can you get any history on her? Now in that picture, is she getting up from a fall or when she went down?

The reason I ask is when they "faint, and they really do not do that," they go down all at once. SO they fall to their side. If she is just going down on her back end, I would have to agree with Liz about being a neurological problem.

4. Kelsiekoos

Kelsiekoos Guest

May 24, 2009