The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I bought a lamancha cross who I was told they had been milking up to today. She doesn't have a huge udder at all and small teats. I'm a total milking newbie, but I can't get a drop out. One side is also larger, and hard. Doesn't seem hot though. I gave her grain and alfalfa pellets twice today. Do you think I'm doing it wrong? What does the larger side indicate. Mastitis? Help please!!

·
Registered
201 Posts
Try starting from the top of the teat (however small) right below where it attaches to the udder, and pull down, and milk should come out. I put my index and thumb around just below where it attaches, then squeeze each finger from my index slowly until the teat is dry, let go, and redo.

She sounds like she has milk, especially if the udder is large and hard.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
No, the owner didn't bring her to me. I had sold a goat to a lady three hours away, who happened to live close to this family, so she brought me my new goat when she came to pick hers up. I went back out tonight and tried again. I feel like I'm doing it right, but still nothing. I also tried bumping her udder a few times. Could it be the stress of the move? If I let her be to settle in would it be ok? How quick can she dry up?

Sent from my iPhone using GoatSpot

·
Registered
30,603 Posts