New goat owner... Help! Hope I am doing this right!!

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by Trisha, Aug 8, 2015.

1. Trisha

Trisha New Member

Jul 27, 2015
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Hi! This is my first time posting on here and I hope I am doing it right. I have a few questions, as a new goat owner. About a month ago I purchased two baby goats (5 months old). One is a doe and one is a wether. I am absolutely crazy about them both and want to be sure I am doing things right for them. My male seems to have what I think is this "fish tail" looking tale. We feed the manna pro lose minerals and his eyelids seem a nice pink color. I did the manna deworming pellet food last month on the 28th. They both have dry skin and some flakes but I do not see any mites or fleas or anything. The female is way more flaky and is shedding so much it's crazy! I did baths in mane and tail shampoo then re did baths the following week with selsun blue for dandruff (which helped a lot). My female, Violet, is very attached to me and screams so bad if I leave her and I don't know how to get her to calm down when I can't be out with them ?? Sorry for so much in one post, I am just worried and want to be sure I am doing what's best for them. We live near St. Louis, Mo and it's very hot and humid!! Thanks so much!!

2. Little-Bits-N-Pieces

Little-Bits-N-Pieces Active Member

Apr 7, 2013
    CA
    Welcome and get ready for a goat addiction! :lol:

For the fish tail, that is a copper deficiency, or possibly a lack of vitamin E to absorb the copper. For the hair falling out and dry skin, that sounds like a vitamin E deficiency as well, or perhaps a lack of fat in the diet.

For the worming, I don't really recommend the pelleted wormers, they just don't work as well and usually have a very narrow range of worms they kill.

What are they getting as far as hay goes, and any grain? Are they weaned or still on milk? Also what breed?

3. Trisha

Trisha New Member

Jul 27, 2015