The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm new to the production goat arena...I've had a pet pigmy for 8 or nine years but she hasn't really ever needed any intensive management. She's a really sturdy girl and packs with the dogs...
Now I have a new herd of kinder and kinder/nubian mix. I am getting milk for the first time, but it's not as planned. From what I hear the goats do most of your planning for you...you're just along for the ride so I sort of expected it to be unexpected!
So...here's the layout.
Purchased a breeding pair (registered kinder doe and half kinder half nubian buck(ling). Also acquired the half sisters of the buckling to hold while someone else's fence was finished.
They never finished their fence, my buck pen wasn't ready (still isn't) so the half siblings are now mine, buck still running with them.
I do not want to get rid of the buck. We half raised him, love him and he is now proven as he produced triplets with the intended doe...all healthy, now one month old. My intention from the start was to milk once a day. So question one: Is that possible with triplets?