The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay I am completely new to goats... and recieved some pygmys from a lady whom obviously is new as well. Was supposed to get a breeding pair.. ended up with two does and one I believe to be pregnant... anyhow dont know when or how far and this lady swears its a buck... goint to post pics. Please any ideas on how long and all the advice I can possibly get is much appreciated! !

Attachments

·
Well, my username says it all... :)
2,751 Posts
What makes the lady believe it is a buck? If it acts "bucky" it may be a hermie, but most likely not. Looks pregnant to me. I would say she has got a month or so left.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Figured she was preggo. Doesnt act like a buck at all!! So being new to goats what are signs of labor and what to expect? We werent really planning on having babies anytime soon, but this will be fun!

·
Boers & Nubians
1,938 Posts
I agree, definitely a doe! Looks pregnant too, because she is starting an udder. Grace is right, probably about a month.

If you want awesome information, just read a lot in the Kidding Koral section and you will learn tons. They have kidding supplies and all that sweet stuff on there. http://www.thegoatspot.net/forum/f197/

Good luck with your doe!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The other thing is the lady told me she is "about" 6-7 months old tho She isnt too much smaller than the 1 yr old doe we got with her. Thanks for your input guys. Now the question what do I do? Lol

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Okay so my doe is getting bigger everyday it seems! Its driving me nuts becuade I dont know when she was breed and ive never had a pregnant goat before! Her girlie parts seem pudgy ish, and when she bleats you can see pink. No discharge yet. Ugh im a nervous wreck! I wish I new when she was bred!

·
Well, my username says it all... :)
2,751 Posts