The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello everyone!

well I am very new at this whole goat subject, but my husband and I just received a pair of female angora goats. I am already in love! but..... are there things I should be looking out for? and suggestions to win over their affections? their previous owner did not handle them often one is a yearling and the other is 2 1/2. I know their feet have not been trimmed for quite sometime and am wondering how to get them tied and calmed at the same time..... also the oldest has a little runny nose and weepy eye, should I be concerned? :confused:

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
Welcome to the group!
I have Angoras and only 1 out of the 3 kids I got is really super friendly. One hasn't started speaking to me again since shearing. heh. Food always wins over affections. Food and patience.

As for trimming, I like to flip the Angoras on their backs to do their hooves. I just did all of mine the other day and I got gouged in the shoulder by a horn because I wasn't thinking and attempted to do the Angoras like I do the dairy goats (I don't tie anyone, I just trim, they're all used to me enough). Either way though, just be careful of the horns when trimming. If you have a stand that has a head hold that works really well.

For the Runny nose and eye, that could be a lot of things. Do they have a temp?

One thing I've noticed about my Angoras, they're more susceptible to parasites than my others. So keep an eye out and do a fecal on them. Many on here talk about not graining goats that aren't lactating or working...your fiber goats are working 24/7 growing you fiber so for a good fleece, they need good food.

·
Goatless goat momma
7,887 Posts
welcome!

time will help calm them down. just sit with them often, and bring lots of yummy treats. a way to anyone's heart is through their stomach!