New here, breeding advice?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by NubianLover, Sep 19, 2010.

1. NubianLover

NubianLover New Member

Sep 19, 2010
    Nebraska
    Hello,
    I am new to the breeding of nubian goats and no matter how much I read, I think experience/learning from others is best. I have one nubian doe that was in heat for like a week. She let my buck breed her the 14th and 15th, but then no more. She basically just came out of heat a couple days ago. Yesterday morning she had diarrhea. She wasn't really into eating a whole lot of alfalfa, but was nibbling on it. I bought some corid as well as nutridrench. I did not treat for coccidiosis because when I went to feed last night she was constipated and still acting normal. I gave her 15cc of the nutridrench and this morning she licked up a bunch of straight yeast culture. She was eating her alfalfa better than yesterday, still acting normal. No signs of constipation or diarrhea. We did undergo a weather change from 80 degrees and humid to like 50 degrees and very cool. I guess my question is, is this normal during a weather change? If she was still in heat after being bred does that mean she didn't take?

My other doe got bred the 16th and 17th. After that, the buck didn't show much interest in her and she didn't show much interest in him. She is still just coming out of heat as of today (her tail is wet and other signs) Does that mean I missed and she most likley didn't catch? I know it may be hard to tell, but thought I would ask.

Sorry this is long, but like I said... I am a newbie at this! :)

2. RPC

RPC Boer Goat Breeder

I am new to but I think they still finsh their cycle even if they are bred just wait for their next heat cycle and if they come in then you know they weren't bred and breed them again. But if they don't come into heat then you will know they are bred.

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California