new kids mother abandoned at birth

Discussion in 'Meat Market' started by newmama30+, Nov 4, 2010.

1. newmama30+

newmama30+ New Member

Oct 4, 2010
    Wabasso MN
    I am new to meat goats bought pregnant does well one finally kidded YAY except that she abandoned them because although I have had goats for a couple of years never this many at once planned to seperate when I noticed labor didnt see any sign's of labor took my kids out for supper cause it was my son's birthday today and came home to two newborn kids and no mama any where near them. I know who mama is and I plan on catching her first thing in the morning and bringing her up to the other barn. Do I need to feed these two as often as I would my dairy kids tonight? or not worry bout it till I get mama up to the other barn and see if she'll bond with them?

2. pelicanacresMN

pelicanacresMN New Member

I would get them with the mom asap. They really need to get that first milk--the colostrum. The longer you wait to get them together, the more that the mom may not want to bond with them. Keep us updated!

3. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    oh yes each kid needs to be fed every 2 hours and especially they need that precious colostrum that mom has. Milk her and bottle feed or hold her for them to nurse.

A kid is a kid regardless of breed so they should be treated all the same - so if you have experience with dairy kids then you do just as you did for them when bottle feeding

4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California