New Member, of course with a problem!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by elchivito, Apr 18, 2010.

1. elchivito

elchivito Active Member

Apr 18, 2010
    Hello to all. I've enjoyed reading the threads here for some time. First, introductions:
    My family and I have been raising Toggenburgs for about 6 years. We show a bit at ADGA shows and our son is in 4H. Two years ago we got interested in Mini Milkers and bred one of our best yearling does to a purebred Nigie. She gave us two beautiful does. As first generation registered Mini Toggs, we couldn't breed them their first season as we couldn't locate a first gen buck. I finally found a nice looking blue eyed boy and bought him so we could breed this past fall.
    Now comes the problem. One of our girls had twins, and the other kidded FIVE, all alive and relatively healthy although tiny. That was last Sunday, the 11th. On monday she fell ill with a 106.5 fever. The vet came out, and gave her IV banamine and started her on Baytril and Naxcel injections daily. He suspects metritis or endometriosis possibly and maybe a tear in her uterus, although he looked at her with ultrasound and didn't see anything unusual like a dead 6th kid or anything.
    She has been up and downhill all week since. Her fever will drop to 103 occaisionally at night and she will feel better and talk to her babies (we lost one, I think she layed down on her, a doe of course). The babies are on bottles and doing well as her udder is very congested and she has very little milk. I've left them with her as they are too tiny to put in with our other babies/moms, tho they are the same age. We had 12 born in total saturday and sunday.