The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I am going to be a new goat mom this spring, and would love some tips on how to raise the kids. I'll be getting a little wether and doeling, both are pygmy fainting crosses. I know they have to eat separate feed from my research so far, but I'm finding it difficult to find information on what exactly to feed them. Ill be feeding both grass hay as I heard alfalfa changes the milks flavour, as well as being unsafe for wethers. Mineral blocks/Powders I've heard are a necessity, and have heard that kelp and baking soda are good too, but I'm not too sure what for. Any and all tips are greatly appreciated! Im very new to everything, so no tip is a bad one. Thanks! :kid3:​

·
Fair-Haven
4,620 Posts
So much of your information is wrong. You can feed them together, look at the total diet of calcium 2 parts to phosphorous 1 part. Since your little doe should not be bred until she is at least over a year old, a nice pelleted feed, LOOSE minerals (no block) , and a clean hay ( I like alfalfa timothy mix) - and alfalfa is wonderful and many top breeders feed ONLY alfalfa. Pygmys are mainly a meat breed as are myotonics (fainters) so they really aren't the best pic if you are looking for milk production - and not free choice baking soda. Goats make their own bicarbonate, and feeding free choice inhibits their ability to do that when they need it. Keep kids on the same diet as the breeders and slowly switch over to what you are feeding to make any changes. Keep on top of coccidia, wormload, via fecals with your vet. Goats can be difficult to raise, best wishes, and read all you can on these threads. You can also search topics you are interested in.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·