New to dairy goats I need your help!

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by Madison Ramsey, May 22, 2020.

1. Madison Ramsey

Madison Ramsey New Member

May 6, 2020
    North Carolina
    I have a Lamancha goat my dad purchased for me when he got his goats. I no nothing about her breeding but she is probably mixed. She had her first kid may 1st. I started milking one side because the baby favored the other. I am getting very very little milk I think the most I have ever gotten was maybe 1/4 cup. Now that her baby is getting bigger and starting to self wean (he is eating a little of her grain I. The evening) I issued that after her started weaning I would just keep milking and it would be fine. The past few night I haven’t been able to get any milk at all. He is still trying to nurse occasionally so I don’t think she is completely dry. Pleas let me know what I can do to keep her producing milk. Like I said I have never done anything like this before and am just kind of winging it. I did read about separating the two of them early but that and bottle feed isn’t something I want to do right now. Someone give me the 101 of Lamancha goats

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Can you post a picture of her udder when it is full. Did you milk from day one? Are you sure you are emptying her udder?

MadHouse likes this.

3. GoofyGoat

GoofyGoat Well-Known Member

Sep 21, 2018
    TEXAS
    Is she getting enough rations to produce enough milk? If her buckling is only 3weeks old (born 5/1) he shouldn't be anywhere near weaning yet, he's just experimenting and learning with tasting and nibbling grain and hay. What are you feeding her and the amounts? Did you worm her after she kidded?

4. Madison Ramsey

May 6, 2020
    North Carolina