The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
Can someone help me out with what I am seeing? Are these squiggly things parasites/worms or plant material?
I have treated this doe for barber pole and am trying to see if more treatment is needed. I really appreciate any help
Thanks,
H
Liquid Azure Purple Organism Rotifer

·
Premium Member
Raising Quality Show & Commercial Goats
5,925 Posts
I dont see any Barber Pole worms. Alot of air bubbles and food debris. What degree of magnification are you looking through?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I apologize for all the air bubbles as I am new to this I believe it was 10x but I did enlarge the picture I took
There is a lot of those squiggly? things that has me concerned and confused

·
Registered
1,959 Posts
I don't see any barber pole eggs, I bet those things are plant material. If you are really worried, take a fecal to a vet experienced with doing goat fecal tests, or mail one to Meadowmist Lab service: https://www.meadowmistlabservice.com. They can also test for lungworm.

·
Registered
1,959 Posts
Is the goat coughing? Acting weak? What is her FAMACHA score?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Thank you everyone for your replies and suggestions
I will send samples out to Meadmist Lab
She did have a cough but it seems to have stopped after she was treated with Valbazene. She was also very weak and lagging behind. Her FAMACHA 4 this morning, been giving her Red Cell. She is separated from the herd. Her appetite is good and so is her temperature

·
Registered
1,959 Posts
Thanks for the update, if she had a cough then I would definitely get the lungworm test done. Valbazen does kill lungworm.
Is she getting daily b complex shots? Is she underweight?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·