The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new here and not sure if I am posting in the right forum, let me know if I should have put this in a different place.

I just got my farm about a year and a half ago and have 1 mustang, 1 big ole mutt dog, 2 cats, 2 grown hens and 3 baby chicks, plus two mice and a gecko that reside most of the year in my kindergarten classroom (I am a teacher).

I just got my first goat this weekend. She is a Nubian/Alpine cross and 6 weeks old. After the fact, I have found out she was weaned a little early (not my choice, choice of the person selling her), and I know she needs a friend also, which I am working on. In the meantime, I am keeping her in a crate (she has room to stand up, turn, walk around a little) in the garage at night. She is next to my 3-4 week old chicks and they are sharing a heat lamp since the nights have been cold. I have a shed with attached pen for her during the day. I have also been taking her out on a leash/lunge line for walks and browsing. I am feeding her medicated pellets and hay along with whatever fresh stuff she gets when out and about.

She was unhandled when I got her, but she is coming around. She is very calm when held and has figured out that she likes to have her head scratched. She will sit on my lap unrestrained and pretty much go to sleep. She is still a little hard to catch, but getting better. The wonderful surprise is that she and my dog are bonding. He is lonely because we lost our old dog a few weeks back and haven't found just the right new one yet. He is scared of everything (even the chicks), but loves the goat, I
think he thinks she is a puppy. She is interested in him, but still a little scared, but I think it is only a matter of time before I find them curled up napping together, lol.