New to Goats and had Triplets Need Help

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by osidoa, Feb 15, 2010.

1. osidoa

osidoa New Member

Jan 28, 2010
    Indiana
    Hi I am new to Boer Goats and I had my first kids today only thing she had triplets do I need to worry about milking one of them? This is not her first time having triplets and also if I do need to bottle feed one is there a certain milk is better than others I Have tractor supply and rural king and big r fairly close but not sure which milk would be better. Also how much would you feed at each feeding? I also give each of them two squirts of Neutra Drench
    Thanks for your help
    Steve
    In Indiana

2. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    First of all, CONGRATULATION on Triplets. :leap: how may are doe and how many buck? Not that it matters, just wondering.

If mom is a expert on triplets, then I would watch them and make sure they are getting enough. Is mom taking all three? She is not butting one away?
    What I do is I give warm Molasses water (pretty strong molasses), and the more water she drinks the more milk she will make. Give her all that she wants.

3. 4kids

4kids New Member

Jul 21, 2009
    I agree. Treat mom well and she will nourish those kiddos for you. I would watch the kids to see that everyone gets on, is urinating and seems energetic. If someone seems lethargic that is when I would offer the bottle as a supplement.

4. osidoa

osidoa New Member

Jan 28, 2010
    Indiana
    You know I never paid any attention to see what were males and females but she did clean them all up and just when i was there layed down beside them an they were all sleeping and mom seemed to be good with all of them not pushing any away or anything. I will look when they are all awake an see what is male an female I don't like bothering them much right after birth.
    Thanks for your help Steve

5. cdtrum

cdtrum New Member

Aug 25, 2008
    Northern Indiana