New to Goats and I think she is in Labor

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by ATovet35, Apr 29, 2010.

1. ATovet35

ATovet35 New Member

Apr 29, 2010
    I am new to goats and bought a small herd a few months back and was told that they might be pregnant. One had one today and I had no idea she was due. The baby is very tiny and she has nothing to do with it. I have 2 others that is bagged and looks like they are ready anyday. One is showing signs of labor from what I have read. She usually wont let me get close to her and now she will let me pet all over her even while she is lying down. I took some pics today and wanted to see if anyone could tell me what they think about how far along they might be or if she is close. Is there signs that I should look for if she is in trouble.

Attached Files:

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    welcome :wave:

I take it your doe is a boer or boer mix? have you tried looking for ligaments? description and pictures here viewtopic.php?f=16&t=12484

she doesnt look "posty yet" viewtopic.php?f=16&t=3422

she is certainly due soon just not sure if it will be today tomorrow or next week. Sorry. Watch for her udder getting suddenly tight. And the ligments like i posted and her legs going more straight and she will walk extra funny. Her tail wil also cock to the side or straight up adn then the tip will flop over.

How is the little one mom rejected? did you get colostrum in it? this is super important. Are you bottle feeding or holding mom for the kid to nurse?

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    I agree with Stacey ...she doesn't look quite ready.. but yes it will be soon... :wink:

4. Cinder

Cinder New Member

Mar 2, 2008