New to goats and need some help..Updated pictures added

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by MattMattsMomma, Jan 14, 2010.

1. MattMattsMomma

MattMattsMomma New Member

Jan 14, 2010
    Hi,

I am still very new to goats and especially the kidding process. I have been reading these boards and I have some questions. I have only had Lucy since June and she is an older goat. We do have a male goat.

I think my goat Lucy is pregnant and might soon have her babies.

She has gotten larger over the past couple of months. At first I thought she was just gaining weight, getting her winter coat, but then I noticed her udder looking larger and that's when it hit me.

This morning when I went out to check on them, I noticed that she has creamy colored mucus coming out of her, which I have never seen before on her.

I took some pictures, they are not very good, but here they are:

Leaves stuck to the mucus:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Shot from behind:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Shot from Overhead:
    [​IMG]

Do you think she might be getting close? I need to gather up some things in case she needs me.

I don't know exactly when she was bred. I do remember a day a few months ago when I saw the male goat trying to do his job. But I didn't think much of it because he is so much shorter than her, I didn't think he would be able to reach.

Thank you if you can help me.

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    Re: New to goats and need some help..

welcome :wave:

yes she looks pregnant -- I say she is loosing her plug. Could be any day now up to another month.

When that udder gets SUPER tight and full -- it will suddenly just balloon up, you know you are getting close.

For kidding supplies I like to have on hand -- LOTS of towels. I always have like 10 or more towels and I seem to use them all. Never can have to many towels ready. One of those snot sucker things for babies -- works great also for little kiddos :thumb: