New to Goats. Is my new goat preggo? Pooch/Udder Pics.

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by firelight27, Apr 26, 2009.

1. firelight27

firelight27 Hopelessly Addicted

Apr 24, 2009
    Southern Oregon
    Hi everyone! I am relatively new to goats. I raised lambs for a few years for market, but never actually bred them. I also showed pygmies for a year, but never owned one myself. SO, I know about basic care, etc. but not about breeding. I finally was able to buy a goat, and I am very unsure if she is pregnant or not.

She is a Nigerian Dwarf. I have no clue how old she is, or when she might have been bred. I got her a week ago (and named her Spirit). She was in a pen with about twenty other goats, five of which were fully intact males. They were all Dwarfs (supposedly), but the people I got her from were scary! I didn't want a buck, and there were no wethers, so I chose a doe. I figured most of them had to be pregnant. There were 5 or 6 with kids at their sides. ANYWAYS, I have been researching how to tell if she is pregnant, how to birth kids, etc. I have bred horses and dogs, but never a goat.

I read about the pooch test, but after staring at her butt for an hour my head just hurts and my fiance thinks I'm some weird goat pervert. She has a teeny little udder, but I'm not sure what a non-bred doe's udder looks like. It could look like hers! Lol. Her anus isn't tucked in at all, it is pretty out there, and her vulva area looks very slightly swollen, but not really "poochy". I thought I'd post photos for the experts. Also, how far along do you think she could be? Someone guessed 2 months, but I have a feeling there is really no way to tell. Lol. Without further ado, the photos:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

And here she is in all her cute little glory (She is very short, BTW. I guess she is average for a nigerian dwarf, but I'm only familiar with pygmies. I chose her breed because I like the colors and the buttermilk.) :

[​IMG]