new to goats - problem

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by turtlebutte goats, Nov 25, 2008.

1. turtlebutte goats

turtlebutte goats New Member

Nov 22, 2008
    Hello from South Dakota. I am new to goats and came across this blog. I just purchased my first goat, a pygmy billy about 4 months old and weighs 18 pounds. He will be getting playmates next week. He is very alert, eats alot, follows me around, etc. I feed him hay two times a day, and a handful of goat feed 2 times a day. My question is: He looks like he as a small basketball inside him! He is chubby. I have read alot on bloat, but he has none of the symptoms at all. Any ideas? From the goat feed I got for him, the instructions state he is supposed to get about twice the amount I am giving him, but since he is chubby, I'm not.
    Any ideas would be great. Thanks!

2. goatnutty

goatnutty Active Member

Oct 9, 2007
    South East,IN
    Our pygmies are the same way. They aren't ill in any way, don't have worms or anything, don't get ed to much...they are just chubby. I would say if he doesn't have worms or anything and isn't showing signs of being ill that he's ok just well...chubby. :wink:

3. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    if he is a true pygmy kid to have a belly is part of their breed character. Other options to consider for why he has a belly would be worms or a hay belly. You can check for a worm overload by checking his eye lids. Are they bright pink or are they pale pink to white? A hay belly is just like it sounds like -- he is full with hay. That is nothing to worry about.

Is your little guy wethered?

Welcome to TGS :wave:

4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California