NEW TO KIDDING IN NEED OF TIPS

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by Hannah, Mar 1, 2011.

1. Hannah

Hannah New Member

Oct 17, 2010
    ms
    I am new to kidding what do I need to do to my doe who is 4 months pregnant maybe. I made a big mistake by not writing down the exact date. so what vaccinations, feed, minerals, hay ect. She is on a milkers feed and I changed her to alfalfa hay a month ago because thats what it said in the book. I also just got her some minerals. She has baking soda free chose in her pen. The minerals are also free choose. I have an old horse that lives with them so they have food minerals ect. at night and they have bushes, grass, and leaves all day. Am I doing this right? She is getting her shots the 17 by the vet. She is being tested for CAE and Johne's. Is that all she needs? When the kids are born what do I need to give them? If my doe has three kids do I need to bottle feed? what do I need to have in the barn when they are born?(kidding kit?) Do I need to line the stall with feed sacks?(bottom and top). Sorry there is so many questions. Thanks!

2. firelight27

firelight27 Hopelessly Addicted

Apr 24, 2009
    Southern Oregon
    I recommend going to fiascofarms.com for kidding tips. Great goat site.

3. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Heres a link to a topic here at TGS that will help with supplies you may need
    viewtopic.php?f=16&t=354

Most here give their expecting does a CD/T vaccination 4 weeks prior to delivery, as far as triplets..mom can handle them, what I do though is to be sure that each gets colostrum within 1-2 hours of birth as well as make sure that each are nursing well.

4. Hannah

Hannah New Member

Oct 17, 2010
    ms