The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! So I'm new to kidding, and my doe is going to have kids in the spring! I'm SOOO excited, yet SOOO nervous! I was wondering if any of you have suggestions of things to do, things to get, etc? Or like a "walk through" type thing of the kidding day and whatnot? Any tips/help or anything about kidding in general is appreciated!!! Thanks!

·
14,615 Posts
There's some good info in other threads, just scroll down to the bottom of this page.
Read up all you can; what to be aware of when doe is close, any distress signs, things you will need to have on hand.
Most kiddings go smoothly in spite her of human tearing their hair out.

·
Boers & Nubians
1,938 Posts
Yay for kidding! It's always so exciting to see the little kids causing ruckus in the barn during kidding season (whenever that may be) :D

I'll give you a few pointers that are good to have around this time

Rule #1- You needn't be nervous about your doe kidding while she is 2 days pregnant. Yes this is a rule. Yes I have had to remind myself about this ;)

I would watch plenty of kidding videos on YouTube, because they are very informative and there is nothing like seeing how it is done. Around 2-4 weeks before the doe's due date, make a kidding kit full of supplies that will come in handy on the big day. Here's a super good sticky thread on the subject- http://www.thegoatspot.net/forum/f197/kidding-supplies-101276/

For now, make sure your doe is nice and taken care of- don't overdue grain (especially in the last month of gestation), make sure feet trimming is always up-to-date, DO NOT deworm with Valbazen during pregnancy, perhaps get her tested to be sure that she is pregnant, use CD&T vaccine 1 month before her due date (some do it at other times), be sure that she is a happy pregnant goat, and enjoy the ride!!!

·
Registered
3,663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·