New to milking

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by ReUnitePangea, Feb 1, 2011.

1. ReUnitePangea

ReUnitePangea New Member

Jan 25, 2011
    Hi guys Im new to the goat milking game. My 3 year old Monica gave birth to two healthy girls yesterday.

My first question is,my assumption is you must take the babies away at some point and give them milk by hand no? At what age is good to do this and start milking the mother on a normal schedule? Or ive read about taking the goats away for part of the day and milking the other. For a first timer its pretty confusing and I just dont want to do the wrong thing. For me it would be easiest to take the babies away full time and feed by hand (we have a powdered milk formula here for goats) and keep the milk of the mother for cheese.

I guess thats the only question I can think of right now. All opinions appreciated.

-RUP

2. comingsummers

comingsummers New Member

May 6, 2010
    Northern New Mexico
    Well it really is personal preference how you do it. I personally leave my kids with the doe just because that is easier for me. You can seperate the kids from the doe overnight starting at a couple of weeks and then just milk in the AM. Some people milk twice a day and leave enough for the kids too, but you need a pretty heavy producer for this to work. Or you can pull the kids and bottle raise. I just have to say that if you do bottle raise it seems that powdered milk replacer is NOT the way to go. I've heard way too many stories of dead or sick kids from being fed that stuff. I hope that I was of some help. I know that more experienced people will be on here soon to give you advice too. Most importantly enjoy and have fun!

3. ohiogoatgirl

ohiogoatgirl New Member

Jan 31, 2010
    ohio