New to the forum and have a question about new goat

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by 3pygmys, Jul 12, 2009.

1. 3pygmys

3pygmys New Member

Jul 11, 2009
    I am new at raising goats and have three. I just got our newest addition Saturday. I have a 4 month old doe and a 3 month old billy. The newest is 7 weeks old. I'm not sure how to safely bring the newbie into the pen. I brought her in and sat with her and the other female chased her around and around in circles butting her. I separated them and put them on different sides of the fence. I tried again today but only putting the new one (Casey) in with our baby billy (Oliver) and he was sort of blowing his nose and making these noises with his tongue out and chasing her. Is this normal??? I am at a loss and have put Casey in the main pen by herself to get used to it and the other two separated inside in a smaller pen. Any help would be great!

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    The buckling should not be in with the does, breeding to young can occur.....alot of breeders wait til... 1 year old or older ... :wink:

Goats... will always have pecking orders and will chase and butt a newbie goat.....just keep an eye on them....they will have to work it out...... and will eventually calm down.....Also ...at feeding time... the more dominate does ...will butt the newbies....so try to.. feed in different spots ...so that the newbie can eat... :wink:

3. 3pygmys

3pygmys New Member

Jul 11, 2009