new to the goat!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by cdtrum, Aug 26, 2008.

1. cdtrum

cdtrum New Member

Aug 25, 2008
    Northern Indiana I'm so confussed :hair: . I am new to the goat world and this site.....I have two 3month old boys....that will be getting casterated. This is a great site, but overwhelming with info.....what is this I read about giving them baking soda? Do I need to give them salt/mineral blocks at this age and which is the best for them.....oh, and what about protein tubs????? I have them on goat feed pellets and mixed alfalfa hay and what they are cleaning out of the fence row.....we just brought them home 2 days ago......These little guys are just pets for us and we want to give them what is best for any help is greatly appreciated.........Also, how long will they cry for momma.....they are fine as long as I'm out in the barn yard, but as soon as I walk out they bellow! I am such a softy, but I have other chores to get done.....I can't be out there all day, but when they cry it just breaks my farmer neighbor told me if I go out there everytime they cry, I am just teaching them to cry ....I am a reformed city girl that moved to the country 5yrs. ago.....we started with chickens 2 yrs. ago and now we have added the pgymies to our farm......I just love farm life! nothing is better than being out in the barn with my critters!
    Thanks, Denise
  2. rgbdab

rgbdab New Member

Nov 26, 2007
    Hi and welcome!