new wethers coming!

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by Beeliz, Feb 25, 2011.

1. Beeliz

Beeliz New Member

Feb 25, 2011
    Hello everyone,
    I have 2 young( 4month old) wethers coming next sunday,and am very excited!! I have only had females before,,we're talking pygmy's..I wondered if there is any special feed required to keep down the chance of getting crystals in their urinary tract.?
    I plan on feeding fresh hay available at all times,and grain in the morning,,is this correct? and is there anything that I should watch out for with wethers? (food wise) I have ducks and a giant rabbit and the goats may get at their food at times.
    thanks all!

2. TiffofMo

TiffofMo New Member

Jan 10, 2011
    SW Missouri
    Im a new goat owner myself so do not know a lot im still learning. But i think chicken and duck food is bad for goats. I would think rabbit food would be ok if they only got a little bit of it. My goats got into the rabbit shed a few times and ate the pellets that dropped down onto the ground and there fine. Hopefully someone with my experience can help you.
    O And welcome this is a great forum to learn from

3. Beeliz

Beeliz New Member

Feb 25, 2011
    Thank you,!
    I will try to keep the ducks feeding area away from them then,,I will only feed them IN their duck run..but you know goats! they want to get into everything! LOL

4. cdtrum

cdtrum New Member

Aug 25, 2008
    Northern Indiana
    It's very important that goats do not get into rabbit or poultry feed......as far as feeding wethers, I fed mine 1/2 cup of goat ration until they were about 1yr per my vet and now I only give them that same amount as grown nigi's and pygmy mixes during the winter months, they really don't need it.....but makes me feel better. I also buy a ration that has AC added to it for urinary stone issues and I add AC to their loose minerals, it is cheap...I order it from Hoeggers, it comes with directions on how to mix with minerals.

5. Beeliz