Newbie from VA

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by logansmommy7, Nov 12, 2009.

1. logansmommy7

logansmommy7 New Member

Nov 11, 2009
    Shenandoah Valley, VA
    Hi all-

I am new to the goat world, and going to pick up my first two goats ever tomorrow. I am getting two Nigerian Dwarf whethers for pets/weed clearance on my farm. I am excited but know a minimal amount of care, etc for them. They are 8 weeks old-should I keep them in my stall (room with good ventilation off my small barn) for several days before letting them have free reign of their yard? Are predators a major problem for these type of goats, and if so which ones (besides big dogs I would guess). Please fill me in on what I need to do to get started on the right foot. I have food and a mineral block for them to start. I was thinking of getting some probiotic to give them for a week or so during transition time as well...

Advice is appreciated. :stars:

2. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    Welcome aboard. Glad you are here.

First off, I just want to say a few things. Goats need a LOOSE mineral. The blocks are ok for a second choice but NOT as the main mineral. They can not lick it enough to get what they need before it burns their tongue.

As for keeping them locked up. How big is the pen they will be in? Does it have a good fence? It really depends on how friendly they are when you get them.

As for predators. Oh lots of things would like to eat a got for a meal, so any and all goats are subject to being attacked.

Make sure they have fresh clean water all the time along with free choice hay. As babies being taken away from mom, they will need to be able to eat when they are hungry.

Now when you get them we NEED to see them so you have to post a picture or so. :stars:

3. logansmommy7

logansmommy7 New Member

Nov 11, 2009
    Shenandoah Valley, VA