The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to goats and this app but maybe this will post right lol. :)

I have raised bottle babies for a few years but never kept them after they were weaned and have never had any problems, but i do realise that older goats have more diseases and sicknesses. Now i have 4 mixed breed does and a mixed young buck, 3 boer nannies, a young boer doe from one of the nannies, and a young boer buck. No one is pregnant and it will probably be a little while because our oldest buck is only 5 months and doesn't seem interested. We live on 15 or more acres but only about 6 are fenced in and they share it with 2 horses. Is their any tips or anything that is important i should know? Any recommended feed, feeding or vaccination plan that will help? And I don't want to mess up and put it in the wrong place, but where would be the best place to post about keeping or culling help because i need to sell a few. Sorry about all the questions any help will be gladly appreciated. :)

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
Hmm, that is a lot of questions, lol! :) welcome to the forum! You'll learn a lot here, and everyone's very helpful. What questions do you want answered first? Cause each one could fill a whole thread, lol!
If you have only meat goats, I won't be that much help because we've only had dairy goats, but I'm sure someone will pitch in about that.
I will say that your goats probably are bred as bucklings can and will breed by two and a half, three months or earlier. But they all mature differently, so I couldn't say for sure. If he's not interested, maybe not; it's hard to tell.

·
Super Moderator
58,939 Posts
What is your goal with the goats? Once you decide your goal, that should help you decide which to sell.

I would suggest getting a good loose goat mineral to have out all the time.

I only do CDT vaccine.

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·