Newbie looking for advice....

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by wickedmum, Jul 9, 2009.

1. wickedmum

wickedmum New Member

May 21, 2009
    I am a newbie here - I have a little herd-ette of Nigerians in South-Central Wisconsin, near that hotbed of anarchy and radicalism, Madison :)
    I have problem with a little doe, a first freshener, that I just don't know what to do with, to keep or to sell, and I'm hoping someone who knows more about goats (that would encompass pretty much anyone who has done more than pet a goat at the County Fair :wink: ) could give me their opinion.
    She is 3/4 Rosasharn breeding. Her sire's dam is Rosasharn Arwen, and although her own dam had a pretty mediocre udder attachment, I was hoping for better from this little girl, April. She is a very elegant little doe, refined, very level, looks very dairy, if you ignore her udder... It is not badly attached, stronger than her mother's although could use better extension in the fore - has a bit of a pocket - but seems to have a fairly strong medial. Haven't seen it really full as her two little kids are snacking on her still. But her teats are tiny little teats, not even as good as her dam's, skinnier than my pinky, maybe the width of a pencil, and one of them is not perfectly straight. Hard to milk.