Newbie Milking Minis!

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by BelievingHSMom, Nov 9, 2009.

1. BelievingHSMom

BelievingHSMom Guest

Nov 1, 2009
    Hello, I am new to this and I have many questions so please be patient with me over the next little while. I have read my dairy goat book cover to cover and I still have many unanswered questions.

I inherited a herd of Nigerian Dwarf Goats from my Aunt who bread them. There were two buck kids, 5 females, and two more pregnant does who have kidded since and the births were uneventful. I have been trying to milk them since they kidded and I want to know:

Is it normal for each of them to produce 14-20 oz per day? When I got the goats she told me that her friends were getting a quart or more a day. This is a significant difference! She thinks it's because they are first fresheners. I feel a bit put off because although I realized they would not produce as much as full sized goats I was hoping to get more then and coffee cup full! Do you really think they will produce more the next time?

Is there anything I can do to increase production? I am milking until the teat is visibly flat and then bumping/massaging to get the last little bit. These little boogers eat a ton and then still want more. There is no way I can afford to keep this up unless I can sell a little milk.

My book says that I can continue milking after I breed them and stop two months before delivery. It also says many goats dry up during Estrus. One of my goats does seem to be going into heat and has produced less and less. I'm afraid this is what is happening. If I breed her will she stop producing altogether? Might she produce more if she is bread?

Should I dry them both off and breed again? Should I breed them and then dry them off 2 month before delivery? Should I wait till spring? According to the book I can breed them in December/Jan. One of them shows interest in the boys. The one with the younger baby/kid doesn't really seem interested.