Newbie question

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by QotL, May 28, 2008.

1. QotL

QotL New Member

May 27, 2008
    Maine
    I apologize if this is the wrong forum, and please feel free to move it if necessary.

We picked up our first goat on Sunday. The lady I purchased her from said she was a year old. Truth be told, this woman just has them to have them (as in.. she doesn't spend any time with them and most of them were very wild). She had two bucks running with the herd. I realize the season is all off, but is there any chance my girl could be pregnant? She doesn't look like she is (actually I think she looks too thin), but I confess to being a complete Newbie with goats. Is it normal to run the bucks with the does when it isn't officially 'breeding season'? I know she had him seperated from them last August.. but not sure when he and the other buck were put into the herd.

My girl is an Alpine/something if that helps.

Part of the reason I ask is that she has hollows on either side, shortly before her 'hips' that in a dog or cat would make me think preg and carrying low. Her tummy is small though, and she is overall a very small girl (looks more like a deer than a goat). I don't think she's ever given birth. I did feel her udder and can feel something under her teats (similar to a cat half way through gestation), but it's nothing big or obvious.

Ok.. now that you are all laughing at how little I know :ROFL: what are your thoughts?

Thanks. :)
    Meghan

2. Muddy Creek Farm

Muddy Creek Farm New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Keokuk, Iowa
    I think you already know a good deal about them :greengrin: I personally would never run my bucks with my does, but that is just me. I am not sure whether they could still breed now or not..... as to your doe, feel right infront of where her udder would be, a little toward her right side. Just be patient and feel there for awhile and see if you can feel any movement of kids.

Welcome to The Goat Spot!!

3. kelebek