The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all... my ND doe had her kid 6 days ago. I was given advice that I need to separate her kid at night and then milk momma in the morning. I feel like its way too young?

Am I just being paranoid? I don't fully understand why I have to separate them? Can't I just milk momma out without separating them? I understand that I want to teach my doe how to be a milker but not sure I fully understand the whole milking process... if I only milk her half way, will she still try to dry out?

I'm kind of stretched on time in the mornings and I would rather not separate them when I start turning out during the day...

Just a total newbie here... any thing you can share on this would be helpful. Thanks!

·
1,983 Posts
I wouldn't seperate them until at least 2 weeks old(personally I would push it till 3). Your going to most likely get colostrum before that.

And you can milk her without separating them you just wont get a ton of milk.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm not worried about how much milk I get from her right now, but I want to make sure down the road there are no ill effects with her production. After I posted this, I've found some posts that say with a single doe kid I shouldn't have to separate?

Is this true? Also, i thought the colostrum was only 24 hours?

·
Super Moderator
58,939 Posts
I would milk her every day and milk her out now. You want her milk production to stay up and you don't want a lopsided udder.

I never bother to separate a single from mom.

·
HaileyBailey
382 Posts
You don't have to separate them if you're not concerned about having the milk, but you do want to milk her out completely. If you only milk her halfway her body learns she doesn't need that other half you've left and her production will drop. She will "hold back" enough for the baby. Don't worry about that. :)