Newbie to the world of kidding!

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by iddybit acres, Feb 17, 2011.

1. iddybit acres

iddybit acres New Member

Feb 17, 2011
    Newberry, MI
    Im new to the "kidding world" what kind of wormer should i use on mom before or after birth? I have done a fecal on her, I know right now she was a mild worm egg problem but my local vet is a dog/cat vet doesnt know what to worm her with. They were all wormed by the farm vet in July but i can't seem to find the name of what it was, it was a injection. Right now i am having a hard time with my vet of two year's ....... seem's everything they have done has caused more problem's! Any and all advice would be appreciated! Rose-bud is due anytime now (we think) She had a long string of clear goo 4 day's ago and yesterday she started wandering and being pushed away from the other's. She's doing stretch's, itching at her side's, talking soft to her side's, flopping her lip's open, laying down getting up and staring off into space which isnt like her at all! She is a rescue approx. 5 year's old, not sure exactly what breed.

2. HoosierShadow

HoosierShadow Senior Member

Apr 19, 2010
    Central Kentucky
    Ivermectin seems to be the most popular wormer. I have 2 does I think may have worms because their eyelid color is much more pale than the others and they are losing condition. So I gave them an ORAL dose of Ivermectin <DON'T USE IVERMECTIN PLUS ON A PREGNANT GOAT regular Ivermectin is safe>. The dosage I used was 1cc per 30lbs.
    I dosed my girls last night and they are due next week. I got friends advice on here and they recommended that I wait 10 days do it again and then a week after that so hopefully I can get all the hatching eggs...