The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need someone to hold my hand.
I have 2 pygmy goats, Star and Sunny.

I only had them for 4 months. I am also new to goats and I am so nervous right now. Sunny is due anytime. This will be her first.

Star , my other pygmy was obviously pregnant when I bought her. I didn't know this. She had triplets a few weeks before I got her. She was kept with a buck and was obviously bred shortly after they were born
because now she is due anytime.
I thought I would have another month before she kidded.
I'm nervous enough with one goat kidding, but two around the same time?

They both have a discharge. It's hard for me to even check Star's ligs because she freaks when I touch her tail. Sunny is also skittish.

I have two stalls in the goat shed but only one has a door. I didn't know two would kid at the same time!

I have my birthing kit ready.

I even have a baby monitor set up.

They had their CDT shots and have been wormed.

Their diet consists of sweet feed , BOSS, loose minerals, hay mixed with alfalfa hay, along with the occasional produce treat.

I can't pinpoint the date they were bred so I don't have a due date. I can only go by signs.

Sunny has had a white discharge for a week.

Star started having a discharge for a couple of days, which why I think she will deliver soon. There is more of it and it has a brownish tint to it. She is also big.

My biggest fear is a stuck kid. Can I do this? I live out in the country. There is only one livestock animal vet who covers a large area. There are alot of cow farms and people make their living off those cows. So they would take precedence. We, my husband and I, are pretty much on our own.

My biggest mistake was to not meet other goat people in the area. The woman who I got Star from lives far from me.