The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
This is my first time breeding a goat (although I have owned 3 Nigerian dwarfs for over a year and have bred other livestock). My Nigerian dwarf doe (1st freshener) doe gave birth to twins yesterday without complication. She let's them try to nurse, but I don't think that they are getting any milk. I tried to get them to latch and only has success with one. I know they got some milk yesterday and a little this morning, but I don't think either is getting enough. I milked her and tried to get the babies to drink it out if the bottle, but neither one would. I just came outside to check on them and one of the babies is panting and loosing it's playfulness (the other is too, but doesn't seem as bad). It's only 60 degrees and last night it was 55 at the lowest, so I don't think the weather is the problem. I know that time is of the essence here, so any help would be appreciated! Thank you for your help!

·
Fair-Haven
4,730 Posts
You will either have to hold mom and let them nurse very frequently in the first couple of days, or pull them entirely and bottle feed. If mom's udder is very tight, she may not want to stand. They will starve to death if you don't make sure they are getting enough milk. Track weight gain - weigh each kid every 12 hours for the first 3 days to make sure everyone is doing well.

·
8,175 Posts
If they won't nurse, give a shot of vitamin B complex, 1/4-1/2 cc, sub q (under the skin). Then you may have to tube feed them. Time is of the essence. They can die in a very short time if they are not getting enough milk. Check the roofs of their mouth for a hole (cleft palate). Have they pooped and peed?

·
14,760 Posts