The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been incubating some guinea eggs my friend found, that the hen had gotten killed. Ive only hatched off 2 batches of chicks so im pretty new to it. Sunday they all hatched but a few so i left the unhatched eggs in the incubator. And Sunday night one more started to hatch. I checked on him the next morning and helped him open it up a little before i had to leave for school. When i got home he still hadn't hatched so i finally decided to just open it up the rest of the way for him. The humidity in it was so high that there was water droplets on the window part of the incubator but i guess it wasn't high enough or it was too high because the film part under the shell was stuck to him and i had to get a wet napkin to get it off him. I put him back in the incubator until he dried then i put him in with the others.

Tuesday when he should have started walking like the others its like one side of him dosent work? He can move them but he dosent? I guess he was just in an odd position for too long in the egg? I put it off at first that he was just weak from all that hassle of hatching but its been 2 days? What do yall recommend doing, give him more time to get stronger? I've been dipping my finger in water and touching the end of his beak with the water drop and he will drink like that but he hasent ate from my hand yet. He might have ate some of the feed i have left in there though. I decided if it gets worse or dosent get better within a week to put him out of his misery i would hate to see him have to live like that but ill do whatever yall think i should do.

·
2,203 Posts
We had a guinea keet this year do this as well...we ended up putting it down. Give it 48 hours and see if any improvement.

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·