NIggie body types

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by rebelshope, Mar 16, 2009.

1. rebelshope

rebelshope New Member

Sep 20, 2008
    Wisconsin
    I have noticed that there are two basic body types with the niggies. One seems to be longer and leaner, while the other is more boxy. Now my does are not great but they kind of represent what I am talking about. Dixie is more long : [​IMG]
    And Lily is more boxy: [​IMG]
    I know my own does are not the best examples, but I don't want to post other people's animals. In top breeder lines I have seen both types. Which is preferred? Or is it just a matter of taste? What is the benefit of one over the other? Or is just one style more popular now?

2. capriola-nd

capriola-nd New Member

Jul 6, 2008
    Northwest Oregon
    I am not an expert by any means but from what I've gathered, the "boxy" type of Nigerian is "old-style" and the longer, leaner, more dairy Nigerian is what is preferred now.

Personally, I like the longer and leaner Nigie. . . just like a standard dairy goat, except miniaturized. :) I'm pretty sure that is the preferred body type now. But it's important for them to be long and lean like that but also have width and depth.

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    I think you have very nice goats.... :love: ......I do like the longer bodied one better....I see what you are talking about ...I never knew that about niggies.... :wink:

4. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    Have you looked you the STANDARDS? That is what I would do first. I also like the longer goats, but I do not know anything about Nigi's, it is just my personal opinion, and my :2cents: worth.

5. Di

Di Crazy Goat Lady

Jan 29, 2008
    central PA